Reviews

Make Review

Saturday 26th August 2017

A really special stay is on offer here. You start your morning with a beautiful breakfast with all the trimmings. We had a yummy starter which included apricots grown on the property. Fresh eggs cooked however you desire. And you guessed it fresh from the resident hens. The lounge area is the perfect retreat with a crackling fire. Drinks and antipasto on offer prior to dinner. A freshly baked cake is there for an afternoon delight. The hosts are super friendly so take time for a chat. Try and squeeze in a dip in their warming outdoor spa too. It's so relaxing. I guess there's a Lime Tree too but with all our treats and relaxing we did never find out. We'll have to return to discover this and more. Can't wait!


 

Monday 19th June 2017

We absolutely loved Lime Tree Lodge! We stayed with our two daughters, ages 10 and 14, and had a lovely time. John and Pauline are perfect hosts--friendly, warm and welcoming. Before running Lime Tree, John and Pauline owned a Station, complete with sheep, cows, deers and dogs. Their stories were so interesting and you felt like you got a taste of authentic New Zealand from the comfort of the Lodge. The Lodge is beautiful and cozy and by the end you almost feel like it's home. The evening cheese/wine by the fire was lovely and relaxing and the breakfast was delicious and bountiful. Attention to detail was amazing; Pauline noticed our daughter didn't like the bacon at breakfast so she got her some prosciutto, which she had enjoyed the previous evening. Wanaka is a great hub for many activities; wish we had longer to explore the area. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Thanks to Pauline and John for the wonderful stay!


 

Monday 1st May 2017

I booked The Linden Suite at Lime Tree Lodge for a stop over in Wanaka. My husband grumbled as we drove down the autumn tree lined driveway saying 'why did you book a place like this - you know I prefer hotels'. That was the last grumble I heard for the duration of our stay. We both loved this place from the beautiful gardens, the perfectly appointed luxurious room, the wine and generous cheese and nibbles at 5, the outstanding breakfast including everything you could want, the company of other like minded travellers and the hospitality shown to us by the hosts Pauline and John who went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Their local knowledge is an asset - they recommended the Rob Roy Glacier walk to us and it was outstanding! We are definitely going to return to this wonderful place. If you are travelling to Wanaka don't miss staying here.


 

Sunday 23rd April 2017

The lime tree lodge is in Wanaka really a must to stay. The lodge and our room are wonderful decorated and furnished. The hosts, Pauline and John, were so gracious and extremely knowledgeable about the area and very warmly people. The communal drinks and canapés each evening were so enjoyable as you got to chat to the hosts as well as other guests. Communications and hospitality are well lived in this lodge. For breakfast no wish is too much. We felt very at home. The surrounding is very peaceful and well kept. An unforgettable stay on our New Zealand trip. Thank you very much Pauline and John!


Tuesday 11th April 2017

After a great drive from Queenstown to Wanaka with a stop at Cardrona en route, it was a lovely experience to arrive at Lime Tree Lodge and into the good hands of John and Pauline. The room was beautifully equipped and furnished and double doors opening onto the pool and spa area (we used the spa to revitalise after the journey). What was a really nice touch was the invitation to canapes and wine at 6pm, where we got to meet other guests and pretty soon had organised an evening meal on John's recommendation and he then kindly drove us into town to the restaurant. Breakfast was a feast in itself, with a chef cooking each guests choice to order and everything on show looked great quality. John and Pauline were lovely social hosts and it was really interesting to hear of their backgrounds and how they got to where they are. Would have no problem whatsoever recommending this special establishment.


Sunday 12th March 2017

The Lime Tree Lodge is an amazing place. The lodge is lovely with beautiful grounds and the hosts, Pauline and John, were so gracious and extremely knowledgeable about the area. We stayed here for 3 nights and we wish we could have stayed longer as it was our favorite lodge and in our favorite town. Pauline and John hosted drinks each night, provided a lovely breakfast and helped tremendously in recommending what we should do each day. I cannot recommend this lodge more - a must stay!


Wednesday 1st February 2017

On my three daybreak to Queenstown and Wanaka we chose to stay at Lime Tree Lodge, as you turn into the gate you travel along the drive and notice immediately the well kept lawns and Gardens. The Lodge Host Pauline and John were a lovely and couple who welcomed us and showed us around the Lodge, There's a lovely Swimming pool and Hot Tub and a sense of peace an quiet was all around. Our room with Twin Beds was comfortable and looked out to the Garden, Evening Drinks was lovely chance to meet other and a lovely board with meats and cheeses with crackers were offered. Transfers were offered to the Restaurant with a special rate for a Tax back, this was a nice touch meaning we could enjoy a drink or two and not have to worry about driving. In the morning we arrived for Breakfast to be greeted by the chef, a lovely Yogurt, Fruit and Muesli was offered followed by a cooked breakfast, tea, coffee and juice at the main table for all guests. I loved our stay here most relaxing but only sad we could not stay another night.


 

Friday 27th January 2017

We've stayed in lots of great hotels and lodges over the years but the Lime Tree Lodge in Wanaka has to be one of my favorites. All on one floor each of the rooms have double doors that open onto a patio deck overlooking a beautiful lawn, beautiful landscaping, and finally a private pool and hot tub. The attention to detail in every facet of the accommodations inside and out was exceptional. A wonderful breakfast was provided and a happy hour each evening was loads of fun. What made it even more special was the hospitality of the owners John and Pauline. Just an enjoyable couple that made us and all of the guests feel genuinely welcome. I give this my highest recommendation.


 

Saturday 24th December 2016

Staying at Lime Tree Lodge in Wanaka was one of the real highlights of our stay in New Zealand. Pauline and John are wonderful hosts, serving a delicious breakfast. We had the most private, beautiful room at the Lodge, and we enjoyed it immensely. John and Pauline are happy to give you a short ride into town or pick you up afterward, and they certainly know every restaurant in town. There is even a little par 3 golf course on the property, plus of course the on-property birds and sheep. It is just a little piece of heaven.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family


 

Friday 26th August 2016

This is the 3rd year in a row that I have stayed at Lime Tree Lodge and it's the same familiar NZ hospitality, delicious breakfast, evening cheese platter & wine by the log fire that keep drawing me back to this wonderful lodge. The room is luxurious and the facilities are exceptional. The lodge is

Jason, Australia.


 

Friday 26 February 2016

By far the most iconic hospitality experience in our 2.5 week tour of the South Island. Located 5-10 mins drive outside Wanaka, the Lodge is situated on a beautiful plot of land with great views of the surrounding mountains. It's a new property so everything is shiny new (opened in 2014 I think). But the reception by the owners- Pauline and John - trumps all. They personally prepared gourmet breakfasts and evening snacks, were genuinely helpful and made everyone feel welcome. It is clear they've put all of their heart into pampering their guests. This deserves a 6 out of 5 rating.

Michael.


 

Monday 21st July 2014

Dear Pauline & John,

Thank you so much for your amazing hospitality. I had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed every moment, from the blazing fire, to the hot tub, to the cycle into town along those beautiful tracks. All the best and stay in touch. 

Jennifer, Pakistan.


June 15th 2014

One of the best places we have ever stayed and we've stayed at a lot! Beautiful place and wonderful hosts.'

Cheers Dean & Ellie

Great Place love the golf course.

Ryan Ollenberger

Your hospitality was awesome,the place is beautiful. Thank you for your kindness. 

T. Lohr


June 8th 2014

Amazing stay! Great hosts unbelievable accommodation - I ate until I couldn't move! Thanks Pauline & John for a terrific adventure.

Buck and Charlie Anderson U.S.A.


3rd May 2014

“A wonderful break in wonderful surroundings. "Assassin"stabicraft boat adventure a bonus - many thanks. John and Pauline, we wish you well in your venture - great hospitality.”

Hugh and Sue, Auckland, New Zealand


15th May 2014

“Simply amazing lodge. Thanks so much for all the great hospitality. It made our trip.” Troy, USA

“Thank you for a beautiful stay! We appreciate your kindness and hospitality. The hunters loved the port glasses (sippers).” Bill & Jackie, USA

“We had a great time and the food and hospitality was wonderful. Thanks for all your kindness. We appreciated your help and thoughtfulness when I came off the mountain sick. Thanks for everything.” Phil, USA

“Had an awesome time! Great accommodation. We haven’t stayed at any place with as much hospitality and welcoming us in like it was our own home. Good luck to Lime Tree Lodge and hope to re-visit you again.” J. Johnson, USA

“Thank you for a beautiful time. Your place is breath-taking, the beauty it has shines in both of you. I call you my friend, thanks for all you have done for us and if you ever come to the USA, please look us up. God bless you both and your beautiful country.” Ranai and Greg, USA

“Thank you so much for you spectacular hospitality this week. Here's to a stunning, successful new venture.” Tina and Grant, Christchurch, New Zealand

“Thank you for everything!! You guys have a beautiful place. It was very relaxing and there were plenty of things to do. We will definitely be back.” B. Lemre, USA

Read more on our Trip Advisor page.

07.08.2014

Dear Pauline and John,

Congratulations on a beautiful lodge. From the moment we arrived you have been creating a magnificent experience for Alisha and I.

We have really enjoyed our stay here and wish to come again. We will stay in touch and return with more of us next time.

Walk in beauty. xx00

Lots of love,

Andrew and Alisha.

22.08.2014

Dear Pauline and John,

I have really enjoyed the last week of the Lodge, the room, the food, the hospitality, all the pare-ski snacks and great pinot & chats. I have enjoyed every minute of it. It was wonderful to have met Ben & Bex and going up skiing with them. Thanks for picking me up from the airport and picking me up from town after a long day at Treble Cone or a big dinner. I'll be back soon. I will miss Matuktuki but am looking forward to staying in the Linden Suite.

Jason